Our network

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Author Jeff Schober to Launch Latest Crime Novel at Popular Event

Hamburg author Jeff Schober will host a book launch for “Faces and Fingertips,” his new crime novel, from 5 to 8 p.m. on June 7 at Larkinville, 745 Seneca St., Buffalo, as part of Food Truck Tuesday.

Published by No Frills Buffalo, “Faces and Fingertips” is the third book in a crime series set in Buffalo during the 1980s. The two prior books were “Broken and Profane” (2011) and “Boneshaker” (2013).

“Faces and Fingertips” continues the story of former Buffalo detective Ken Connell as he recovers from a shooting. R.J. Sorrentino, a sketch artist who is Connell’s friend, makes a grisly discovery and approaches Connell for help.  

“My crime novels have been called fierce and compelling,” Schober said. “Faces and Fingertips will appeal to readers who like Michael Connelly or John Sandford.”

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?

South Buffalo Alive’s Annual Parade of Circles Set for June 5

South Buffalo Alive’s Annual Parade of Circles Set for June 5

The Parade of Circles, an annual event celebrating beautification projects along McKinley Parkway in South Buffalo, will take place at 2:30 p.m. Sunday, June 5. The event is presented by South Buffalo Alive, a nonprofit community organization dedicated to improving the quality of life in South Buffalo through ongoing preservation and beautification efforts.

Established in June 2001, the parade runs from Dorrance Circle to Heacock Park and is followed by a picnic in the park with plenty of activities for the kids. The parade will feature music and dancing as well as community groups that help make the neighborhood a special place in which to live.

Rick Smith of Rigidized Metals Corp. will serve as the parade’s grand marshall. The event will also honor the New York State champion South Park High School football team.

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Author of Buffalo-based Crime Novel to Visit Dog Ears Bookstore

Mark Hannon, author of “Every Man for Himself,” a crime novel about racketeering set in Buffalo during the early 1950s, will take part in a book-signing event from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 25, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.

Land Conservancy Awarded $300,000; More Than Halfway to Goal of Protecting Jackson Falls

Land Conservancy Awarded $300,000; More Than Halfway to Goal of Protecting Jackson Falls

The Western New York Land Conservancy has just received a $300,000 grant from the U.S. Fish and Wildlife Service to protect a 57-acre property in the Town of Aurora. The land, known as Jackson Falls, has two gorgeous waterfalls and incredible Roycroft history. Once protected, it will become a publicly accessible nature preserve. 

The Land Conservancy and the Friends of Jackson Falls, a 30-person group of community members committed to protecting Jackson Falls, have until Oct. 31, 2016 to raise $600,000 and purchase the property, open its trails and ensure its long-term care. If not protected, the land could be cleared and subdivided, cutting the community off from the waterfalls. 

Community Sponsors

Are you interested in promoting your business to local customers?

Increase Your Vehicle’s Visibility with a Free Sample From INVIEW VEHICLE TRIM®

Increase Your Vehicle’s Visibility with a Free Sample From INVIEW VEHICLE TRIM®

INVIEW VEHICLE TRIM®, an innovative product that allows your vehicle to be easily seen at night by oncoming traffic from more than 1,000 feet away, is offering several thousand free samples to the driving public.

Applied to the vehicle’s interior door frame in just minutes, INVIEW VEHICLE TRIM® is only noticeable at night — when it’s needed — when the vehicle’s door is open. Made of the same reflective material as a stop sign, INVIEW VEHICLE TRIM® cannot be completely obstructed simply by standing in front of it, unlike a single reflector or light, and never takes away from the appearance of the vehicle.

Dog Ears Bookstore to Host Author Sinéad Tyrone

Dog Ears Bookstore to Host Author Sinéad Tyrone

Author Sinéad Tyrone will sign copies of her latest novel, “Crossing The Lough Between,” from 10 a.m. to 2 p.m. Saturday, June 4, at Dog Ears Bookstore & Café, 688 Abbott Road, Buffalo.  

“Crossing The Lough Between,” the sequel to “Walking Through The Mist,” continues the story of Aidan O'Connell and his Macready’s Bridge bandmates as they face new challenges and adventures. Set against a rich Ireland backdrop, “Crossing The Lough Between” is a heartwarming story with memorable characters you won't want to leave behind.

For more information, please call Dog Ears Bookstore at 823-2665 or visit their website at http://dogearsbookstore.org/. You can also follow Dog Ears Bookstore on Facebook for frequent updates.

Qdoba Mexican Eats® Opens Its First Erie County Location

Today Qdoba Mexican Eats®, the fast-casual restaurant known for its 3-Cheese Queso and free guacamole on entrees, officially opened its first Erie County location today, at 2013 Walden Ave. in Cheektowaga with a fundraiser for the Food Bank of WNY’s Youth Hunger Initiative.  “As we open our newest restaurant, we are eager to kick off a partnership with the Food Bank of WNY’s Youth Initiative,” said James Mounts, Qdoba Director of Operations in Western New York.